The Cookout

Random musings, lighthearted communication, and good vibes.

Stats

Category
Entertainment
Total members
Total events
Total discussions
Total views

What Martial Arts should Black Men pick up?

Jay

The First Sixer
HNIC
    zBucks
    Sex
    Male
    Race
    Black
    Origin
    USA
    I have some boxing experience, what martial arts should I practice to protect my family and self defense? Do adults practice karate/ tae kwon do? Have you noticed a lot of SWS in the BJJ space?
    If I only had to pick one it would be Boxing with Muay Thai being a close second. The reason I would pick Boxing is because you learn how to use your entire body to deliver power through your fists. It’s the quickest way to deliver devastating power. Muay Thai is powerful too but the stance is different because you have to deliver and block kicks which diminishes some of the punching power you can provide.

If I had to pick two I would pick Boxing and BJJ. That way you will be good with striking but also have tools if someone is trying to take you down.

Blackgravity

On Y0 Six
    Community Host
    Tither
    App Beta Tester
    zBucks
    Sex
    Male
    Race
    Black
    Origin
    USA
    Boxing should be #1 and like Jay said, Muay Thai #2 for me I'd suggest MMA style training because realistically the base martial arts isn't practical in real-world fighting. Most fights end up on the ground, knowing how to wrestle and grapple is key to surviving when it gets to the ground.
    Knowing how to Box though can greatly increase your chances of the fight staying upright. scroll through some fight videos on youtube, you'll see almost every fight ends up on the ground.

Jay

The First Sixer
    HNIC
    zBucks
    Sex
    Male
    Race
    Black
    Origin
    USA